My dream literary collection

I was contacted by Ryan at invaluable.com quite a while ago and have been meaning to put up this post for a while. Sorry it’s taken so long to do! Invaluable are an auction site for amazing collectable items like rare and first edition books, check it out. Here’s the link to the first edition books page: www.invaluable.com/first-edition-books/sc-EWAP7WGAFQ/  

Ryan asked what my dream literary collection would look like which got me thinking. Doing this post confirmed that I need to read more classic books. My dream collection includes more newer books.

My dream collection would include:

  1. The complete set of the Harry Potter collector’s signed edition deluxe  by J K Rowling

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 10.10.17

As with all the other posts I have seen about a dream collection mine would also include the original signed Harry Potter series. I mean how could you not want this? I mean just look at those books! Even if I could not get the entire series. I would want Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone for sure.

2. Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien First Edition

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 10.31.30

I admit I have to as yet read these book but I would love to own the original editions, they are beautiful. In my family Lord of the rings is a massive deal, well the films are anyway. I would love love love to have these books.

3. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. The foiled edition

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 10.34.42

I love the hunger games series and when I saw these books I wanted them. They are beautiful covers with an amazing story. I plan to make my children read these books when I actually have children and they are old enough to appreciate the story.

4. His Dark Materials in its first illustrated hardback edition

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 10.39.45

These books are abit controversial as there are those who oppose this book as they say it promoted atheism and attacked Christianity. This book series has been on the banned list. I personally adore these books. The story is amazing and I accept that it is what it is, which is fiction. These hardback look amazing and this is a story that would stay with you forever and it comes illustrated, who does not like illustrated books?

5. Illustrated Animal Farm by George Orwell

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 10.47.01

Ok this book is not expensive but this would need feature in my dream literary collection. My dad read this book when he was a little boy and he says it moved him, he has always wanted me to read this book too. He’s told me the story many many times and so I haven’t read the book yet. I would want this book to read and for the sentimental value it would hold for me.

Thats all I can think of for the moment. If you had a choice which books would be in your dream literary collection? I honestly would never leave my house (or my bookshelf) if I was to own all these books.

It was lovely to talk to Ryan from invaluable and sorry again it has taken my so long to put up this post. Are there any books that you think are missing from my collection?