Cutters vs. Jocks – Elizabeth Marx (Binding Arbitration/Chicago Series 0.5)

This review includes spoilers

I picked this book up as it is a essentially a prologue to Binding Arbitration, a book I wanted to read. I purchased both this and Binding Arbitration a couple of months ago when I was in my reading funk and they have bee sitting in my TBR pile. I am so glad I picked this book up. It was definitely worth a read and it did set the scene for the actual book. If you are going to read Binding Arbitration then pick this up or pick it up just as a stand alone as the book is worth it.

13033739

Synopsis:

Love at first sight versus lust you can’t fight.

Libby Tucker is a cutter—a nobody waitress in a college town—at least that’s what everyone believes. But admission to law school is Libby’s ticket out of Indiana and her escape from small town life forever.

During a night on the town, Libby beats the most competitive athlete on campus at pool and draws more attention from him than she’s prepared for.

Aidan Palowski is one of those jocks your friends warned you about—the kind that never loose—the kind that put notches in their baseball bats. As the closing pitcher on the best baseball team in the Big Ten, he’s on his way to the major leagues. Aidan always gets what he wants and Libby is the final home run he wants to hit out of the park.

The last thing Libby needs is to get sidetracked by a superstar jock. Afraid that she might be on a collision course with love at first sight Libby keeps her distance, but the longer she holds out the more Aidan realizes it’s a case of lust he can’t fight.

What happens when worthy opponents refuse to play their hearts out?

Rating: 5 Stars (I would give it more)

Review:

I am won over by Elizabeth Marx’s writing, this book is only a couple of chapters but I was so engrossed in it. It made me feel a range of emotions is is amazing since this is a novella. It made me want to cry i was so involved with the characters

The chemistry between the two main characters was great and so well written. You could literally feel the sparks of the pages.

“From the moment I laid eyes on her she was trouble to my concentration, my libido, and my mental health. After six weeks of pursuit, I’d trapped her between my upraised arms against a book case, somewhere betwixt Shakespeare and Voltaire. “I want the witchcraft in your lips,” I’d whispered. Instead of arguing, she grabbed me by the ears. She’d been soft lips, liberal tongue and nipping teeth. I’d contributed a willing body and a vulgar groan. She’d drawn away, licked her lips and ducked underneath my arms. When she was about three yards from me, she’s tilted her head up like a siren on the bow of a ship and pursed a devil-may-care smile at me before she bowed. She’d challenged me to pursue her, and I’d intended to, but when I pushed off, the bookcase fell backwards. I tumbled into a heap of literary tombs. I could still hear her laughing when the library’s elevator door chimed closed.”

What I love more is that the relationship between Libby and Aidan was just not lust. This novella takes place over a year and a half and they are friends. There is obviously lust involved but it is not the main factor.

I just adore Libby’s character, she is a strong independent woman who knows what she wants. Even when she has to give up her dreams she does not moan about it and becomes bitter but accepts it and try to make the best of the situation at hand. We do need more heroines like this in books and films.

Aidan a great character too, he was a jock and cocky but so sweet I was totally won over and bowled over by him. However he also broke my heart at the end of this book. He ‘courts’ Libby for a year and a half and once he got what he wanted which was sex he kind of backed off a bit. I know Libby is also at fault here as she started the distance but if you want someone would you not do anything to be with them? Especially when he found out Libby was pregnant I don’t think he was supportive or sensitive at all to it. He just saw the baby as a problem, which is why I feel Libby is less at fault for the problems between them. I mean you wouldn’t give up on the person who you wanted for a year and a half or love  if they started to avoid you?

I could not believe when he drove away from Libby when she waited for him at the end, both were at fault for the problems but I really blame Aiden the most. His reaction to her news was not what it should have been. You would think it would have been different but no. I can see why this needed to happen as there is the actual story but it was so nice to read this back story it helps to make the characters more relatable and real. Honestly read this!! I shall be reading it again sometime!

Happy Reading 😀

5 thoughts on “Cutters vs. Jocks – Elizabeth Marx (Binding Arbitration/Chicago Series 0.5)

  1. Sumatra,
    Thanks for reading and reviewing CVJ. I’m so happy you enjoyed the start of Libby & Aidan’s love affair. I’m thrilled that you liked and understood Libby & I agree with you we need more heroines who have the capacity to love so deeply but aren’t willing to throw their lives into ruin when it doesn’t work out happily-ever-after.
    Happy Reading & Reviewing,
    Elizabeth Marx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

