The Prize – Julie Garwood

Still trying to get through my TBR. Two more books and I can finally buy a new book! I’m counting down the days! Nailing Singh here I come.

Synopsis:

In the resplendence of William the Conqueror’s London court, the lovely Saxon captive Lady Nicholaa was forced to choose a husband from the assembled Norman nobles. She chose Royce, a baron warrior whose fierce demeanor could not conceal his chivalrous and tender heart. A resourceful, rebellious and utterly naive, Nicholaa vowed to bend Royce to her will despite the whirlwind of feelings he aroused in her. Ferocious in battle, seasoned in passion, Royce was surprised by the depth of his emotion whenever he caressed his charming bride.

In a climate of utmost treachery, where Saxons still intrigued against their Norman invaders, Royce and Nicholaa revelled in their precious new love … a fervent bond soon to be disrupted by the call of blood, kin and country!

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

4 words: I loved this book. This book has hands down been one of the best stories I have read this year. It is going straight in my to be read again pile.

“He never knew what hit him.” This first sentence got me hooked on to the book and I had trouble putting it down. In this book Royce who is Norman has on command of the newly crowned king William has come to claim Nicholaa who is Saxon and her holding. She is going to be a ‘prize’ given to one of the king’s warriors. As you can imagine, Royce wins the battle for the holding but Nicholaa actually tricks him into giving her sanctuary to a nunnery by pretending she is Daniella, Nicholaa twin sister (who by the way does not exist). Once Royce finds out Nicholaa has tricked tricked him, he admires her intelligence and figures out a plan to get her to London to present to the king as requested rather than flying into a rage. The interaction between Royce and Nicholaa were always fun to read, they were sweet, cute and romantic but not overly so.

She lifted her shoulders in a dainty shrug. “Where did you sleep last night?”

Nicholaa turned away from Royce to glare at an ugly redheaded woman who was trying to get her husband’s attention. “Well?”

“Look at me when you ask me a question,” he commanded.

He patiently waited until she’d complied with that order, then said, “I slept with my wife.”

“I’m your wife.”

He raised an eyebrow. “Yes, you are.”

“You slept with me?”

“That’s what I just said, woman.”

“You needn’t sound irritated. I don’t remember last night, and I did wonder. So you slept with me.”

She couldn’t seem to get it straight in her mind. Royce held his patience. She was such a joy to watch when she was pricked about something.

Not once in this book did Royce belittle, hit or force Nicholaa which happens quite frequently in other Historical/Medieval Romance, even if the hero loves/cares for the heroine and is thinking that it is for her own good. This was such a nice change which made the book a pleasure to read. Royce was still an alpha male character but did not show his dominance or power by putting other’s down. Both characters were strong, neither were weak or silly. Both thought to make the best of the situation.

I guess what I’m trying to say is you could see the relationship between the two main characters. Even though they were enemies at no point did Nicholaa try to hurt/kill/betray Royce and like I said Royce never held the fact that Nicholaa was Saxon and finding it hard to accepts the Normans against her. The best thing about the book though was what it did not include. Which is the big misunderstanding. You know what I’m talking about, it’s the misunderstanding that happens to create some tension between the main two characters which can easily be resolved if they spoke to each other.

Somethings Royce came out with were just swoon worthy, because while he was a harden warrior he was a big softie on the inside.

“A woman can’t do anything about her appearance. Either she’s pretty or she isn’t. But her character is quite another matter.” 

I have to tell you Royce and his lectures were one of the highlights in this book. I loved they way he said they were going to ‘discuss’ things and ends up giving a lecture instead. The writing was good, the story was well paced and it made me chuckle at points too. I was emotionally invested in both characters which means for me the writing was brilliant. Honestly I cannot say enough good things about this book so read it!

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “The Prize – Julie Garwood

Leave a Reply

