Hired Bride – Noelle Adams (Beaufort Brides #1)

Noelle Adams is fast becoming one of my favourite authors. I know I have not reviewed her books on my blog before but I have read 2 of her books now and I enjoyed both so much. Both books are based on the marriage of convenience idea which is one of my favourite types of books. If you have not read one of her books and like a good marriage of convenience books then give her books a try.

One less book on my TBR pile! Woohoo!

Synopsis:

For years, Deanna’s eccentric grandmother has been trying to marry her off to a rich man, and she’s finally managed to do it. Deanna has spent her life trying to take care of those she loves, and a six-month marriage should be a simple enough way to keep their historic Savannah house from falling down around their heads.

Sexy, obnoxious Mitchell Graves needs a wife to finalize a business deal, and he snaps up Deanna as the most expedient option. Because she’s quiet, he thinks she’ll be easy enough to manage as a wife.

He couldn’t be more wrong.

Rating: 4.5 Stars 

Review:

Ok I will be the first to admit that the marriage of convenience idea is not a original idea and has been done before but i love these types of books. As this books sounds from the synopsis to close a business deal Mitchell needs a wife to stop his potential business partner’s daughter from coming on to him without letting her know he’s not interested incase it affects the business deal adversely. What better way than to enter a fake marriage for 6 months? I know, but this book really is one of the better stories I read. The writing of this book is really well done, it is a short book but it doesn’t feel rushed. Nor did I feel at any point that the characters lacked depth or that they were not full fledged characters. The romance developed over time, sure the lust and attraction was there but it was nice read the romance developing between these two different people.

I liked Mitchell as a character, you could see him evolve as the story progresses, he is character is the one that develops the most, he goes from being the ‘typical’ guy who does not believe in relationships to why relationships are important and what they provide. He’s  a nice guy to start with but he gets better as the book goes on. I will admit both Mitchell and Deanna are bull-headed they do the normal, lets not communicate and talk about what we feel and what matters as the other should know how I feel. I’m sorry to say but from my experience of reading this never works out lol, and I would be correct. They end up communicating to make it a lovely happy ending but you do go through the I want to shake some sense into the both of you phase in the middle of this book.

Deanna was a good character but I think she was a bit too up tight at points. I understood her point of view but I think at points she slightly grated on my nerves. I did love how she would do anything for her family, that was so sweet.

I enjoyed the epilogue of this book so much, for some reason it was so nice to read both Mitchell and Deanna relaxing and having fun.

I look forward to reading the next book in the series, which I will buy when I am able to end my book buying ban.

Happy Reading!!

2 thoughts on “Hired Bride – Noelle Adams (Beaufort Brides #1)

Leave a Reply

