Pronunciation

potato-potahto

I recently went to a Maria Synder book signing, which I’m sure you have all seen my blog post on now. If you missed it it can be found here. Anyway I learn that I have been pronouncing some of the words in her books wrong. Ixia I pronounced as I-X-A but it is actually pronounced I-X-E-A. Even though I know this I cannot think or say the word correct way because it feels too weird and sounds odd.

Am I the only one even when they realise that the pronunciation is wrong still keeps saying it the way you thought it was originally because the correct way sounds weird if you say it out loud or in your head. If so what do you say ‘wrong’?

3 thoughts on “Pronunciation

  1. I do this all the time with book names: I’m sure there are some names that I don’t even know I’m pronouncing wrong! I study microbiology so there are a TON of bacteria that I am butchering the names for! Same with anatomy.
    In everyday life, I know that I say “winter” as “winner” and “santa” as “sana” but unless I make an effort to pronounce the “t” I just keep on saying it as I always do 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

