Shadow Study – Maria V. Snyder (Soulfinders #1/ Study #4)

Synopsis:

Once, only her own life hung in the balance…

When Yelena was a poison taster, her life was simpler. She survived to become a vital part of the balance of power between rival countries Ixia and Sitia.

Now she uses her magic to keep the peace in both lands—and protect her relationship with Valek.
Suddenly, though, dissent is rising. And Valek’s job—and his life—are in danger.
As Yelena tries to uncover her enemies, she faces a new challenge: her magic is blocked.And now she must find a way to keep not only herself but all that she holds dear alive.

Rating: 5 Stars

Review:

I read this book in under 24 hours. I stared it at 5pm yesterday and had completed it by 10am this morning (Yes and I’ve already posted this review – this is how much I had to share my enjoyment!). I just about managed to get some sleep even though I wanted to keep reading though the night I refrained. I enjoyed this book so much and I have been waiting for this book for so long that after finally reading I have no idea what to do with myself now. I was worried when I heard this book POV would be split between Yelena, Valek and Janco but actually the book was so well written that I did not find the switch in perspectives choppy at all. The book flowed well and at no point was I confused about who was narrating. I am so glad that I loved this book, because I love the original 3 books in the series so much I was worried that I had too high of expectation for this and if I didn’t love this book then it would have just slightly impacted my love for the previous books in the series. However I had nothing to worry about because maria writes so well that you are sucked into the story and literally sitting on the edge of your seat to find out what happens next. The story was well paced as it was full of action so it did not drag but neither was it packed with so much going on that the read could could not keep up. I was literally shocked with the developments involving the commander.

I actually really liked the multiple perspective because we got to see what was happening in places where Yelena was not present which helped with the story progression and gave the reader more insight into other side characters around Yelena and Valek. Though the main reason I loved the multiple perspectives was because we got to see more about Valek and how he thinks, how he came to be who he is and his childhood. I am so glad that we got to know more about him and in a way his feelings. I will admit I had an Awww moment when Valek would think things like not missing being in the sought but missing a certain southerner. There is a tiny bit of romance in this book but that is not the main focus of this book, but I really do like seeing the relationship development between Valek and Yelena.

I actually enjoyed this book more than Fire study because in Fire Study the fact that Yelena ignored Moon man and was mean to him was a sour point with me. I enjoyed that Yelena actually learned from this and accepted that she still thinks highly of him even if he was always giving her cryptic advice. I will not say that there were not points where I wanted to hurt Yelena because she was being too independent and I questioned her thinking, there sure fire way of knowing when something is going to happen or go wrong is when Yelena goes off alone. I can overlook those because like I mentioned I felt she was learning from her mistakes and atleast she does take action and do not wait around for a ‘hero’ to do the work. I was also glad to see more of Leif in this book because I really did not like him at all when he was first introduced in this series but he’s grown on me

I knew what was going to happen on the last page due to coming across a spoiler by mistake so that was not a massive shock but it is definitely a cliff hanger ending, I mean I was thinking saying say what?. I really wish I did not come across that spoiler but this did not affect my enjoyment of the book. Though now I cannot wait until the next book Night Study. I’m so excited I had to go on Goodreads and fins out when the next book. Turns out I have about a year to wait for the next book but considering Fire Study was realised in 2008 and originally Maria was not going to write more books on Yelena I cannot complain but I really wish this time goes fast.

I have not read the Storm Glass series but I own so I will be reading those next, I should have read them before this book as other characters from there are mentioned but it did not confuse me to an extent where I could not enjoy this book.

I thought this was going to be a short review. Obviously I was wrong, I know I did not speak much about the story but I do not want to ruin the book for anyone. If you have not read this book or series it is one that I would recommend. The series is a favourite of mine. If you like a strong willed heroine with a good story and great side characters then this book is for you. Though I do not promised that there will not be points where you want to shake some sense into Yelena..:D

Happy Reading!!

8 thoughts on “Shadow Study – Maria V. Snyder (Soulfinders #1/ Study #4)

  1. I’ve not read any of the Study books, but if I read this book since it is the first of a new series but the 4th of another, will I be able to keep up? I’m asking because I won this in a giveaway and it hasn’t arrived yet. I’m wondering if I’ll need to buy the previous books before I tempt to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! Glad to hear you enjoyed Shadow Study, Sumaira. 😀 I really liked it as well, and like you I’m already looking forward to Night Study. Plus, that ending… that’s going to have HUGE ramifications on the rest of the series, don’t you think? 😉

    Are you still planning to go to Maria’s upcoming book tour in the UK? I forget what city you’re planning to go to for that…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

