Elemental Rancor: A Chronicle of Consequence – Charles Lominec

I received this book from the author in exchange for a honest review. Thank you Charles for send me this just because it is not a book I would usually picked up otherwise and I would have missed a good story.  I really enjoyed this book and if there is going to be another in the series (which I hope there is) then I will be buying it. 

Warning there is violence and gore in this book. 

Synopsis:

A far away star supernovas and sends waves of force and change rippling through the cosmos. The waves crash into Sarnen Karnea’s world and thrust him into a deadly struggle to keep his loved ones from harm and to keep a secret about his son from the Zangava Empire.

The waves awaken new and old forms of consciousness, and stir ancient primordial resentments, that threaten to destabilize the Empire’s dominance in the world. Challengers from across the ocean, and from under it, seek to capitalize on newly developing Imperial problems.

Like the Empire, Sarnen must adapt to survive, and must ask himself which of his virtues he is willing to deny in order to reach his goals.

Ratings: 4 Stars

I was very surprised by how much I enjoyed this book, not because the story lacks pace but because this book has a Sci-Fi vibe to it and Sci-Fi is not a genre I usually enjoy that much. However, this book is well-written as it pulls you right into the story and so I found myself gripped and unable to put it down because I just wanted to know what would happen next straight away!

The synopsis mentions Sarnen, who I thought was going to be the main character, and he was a large part of the story, but the book was actually told from multiple perspectives and so I do not think that there is just one main character; I felt all the narrators in the book were the main characters. This book was action-packed and I was hooked right from the start as Charles develops a unique and interesting world. Within the first few chapters, the book gets right into the story with an attack from shark-like creatures on Sarnen’s boat. The reason for this is because Sarnen is ferrying some eggs as cargo. The story progresses from here, and I do not want to say too much because I do not want to give the story away.

The characters in this book were well developed, but I wish I got to see more of Sarnen’s interaction with his family. They had some scenes together but I was left wanting. I could see the love that Sarnen had for his family, it was clear in the writing, and so I wanted to know more. For me, a sign of a good book is whether it makes me cry, because this shows an emotional investment in the characters and story. There was one point in this story which nearly made me cry.

My only issue with the book was there were a lot of characters and so sometimes I had a hard time remembering who was who when they were speaking or the book was being told from their perspective, but this may be because I am new to Sci-Fi. I also found it hard to keep track of all the different ‘species’ in the book, but because the writing was good and the plot interesting, this is easy to overlook.

I would recommend this book because it is a good read. I hope that there is another book in this series and personally I am looking forward to reading it as I need to know what happens next…!

If you want more information or buy the book click here for the link to Amazon UK.

Happy Reading!!

3 thoughts on “Elemental Rancor: A Chronicle of Consequence – Charles Lominec

  1. Pingback: There was one point in this story which nearly made me cry. | Lominec Lexicon

Leave a Reply

