Onyx – Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux book 2)

Please do not hate me! I was so excited to read this book as I loved the first book in the series. I was however disappointed with this read. There is nothing wrong with the writing and the storyline is still good but this book contains the bane of my existence, a love triangle (well sort of) and Katy started to annoy me. I mean seriously why did you do this to me Jennifer?  I’m sure you all know from my previous post on love triangles that I do not enjoy them. If you have not checked out my post on it, then click here.

Synopsis:

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

Rating: 3 Stars

Ugh what can I say about the love triangle, so Daemon admits he wants Katy and Katy knows she wants Daemon, why cannot they just get together and be in a relationship? I really do understand why it is so hard with them being a totally different ‘species’ and all the things that happened with Bethany and Dawson, but I really felt Katy was leading Daemon and Blake on. She knew Blake had some feelings for her and she did not return then so why hand out so much with him. Why can’t she turn to Daemon to her with her problems and training?

Katy actually really annoyed me in this book, it was more the fact that I felt she was leading both Blake and Daemon on. The close bond she shared with Dee had sort of fizzled out which was a shame as I loved their friendship in the first book. Again I understand that she could not share the healing secret with Dee but that does not mean she has to stop hanging out with Dee and put some distance between them.

These issues were sorted out by the end of the book but for some reason it just didn’t click with me, I was actually starting to question whether Katy and Daemon getting together would be a good thing or not. I do not think that there is love in their relationship, after reading this book I feel it is more attraction. I actually think Daemon might love Katy but she does not actually love him back as she should and as he deserves.

The writing was still good in this book and the storyline progressed well, I finished this book within 2 days so it was a good, easy read, it’s just a shame that I could not like this book more as I was super excited to read it. Daemon’s awesome sweet, witty side made me enjoy the book, that was the highlight for me. Plus I still love the nickname kitten, it makes me melt when Daemon says it (well what I imagine his voice is in my head)

“I could always give you a teaser. You bookish people love teasers, don’t you?”

“Can I…?” There was a pause and my heart stuttered. “Can I just hold you? That’s all…that’s all I want.”

Will I be reading the next book, yes but I am in no hurry to buy it.

Happy reading!

8 thoughts on “Onyx – Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux book 2)

  1. Ack. Love triangles. I was really excited about this series too but I haven’t had the time to pick it up yet, hope you enjoy the next one more! And nice job with that teaser hehe 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recently read Don’t Look Back by this author and I really enjoyed it, I’ve heard many great things about this series but I’ve never been all that interested. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

