Obsidian – Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux book 1)

I have heard so many people talk about Daemon Black and thought I’d read this book to find out what the fuss is about. All I have to say is I now know. Just wow.

Synopsis:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Rating: 4.5 Stars

I have heard mixed things about this book, so have been really good reviews and some have been really bad review. I personally enjoyed it and cannot see why some people view this as a rip off of Twilight. Sure it’s a book about a relationship between an other being and a human but that’s it, there maybe slight similarities but I did not feel that this book was like Twilight. As much as I love Twilight, I think Katy was a stronger character than Bella, she stuck up for herself and wanted to help out. She was not a damsel in distress.

 I really liked and connected with Katy, this maybe because like myself she is a book blogger and book obsessed but I was rooting for Katy though out the entire story.

 Ok so if you do not like a character that runs hot and cold and has jerk tendencies then this book is not for you. I have to admit Daemon did this so much, he was a jerk but you cannot help but love him. Probably because I attributed a softer side to him, this was sometimes hinted at in the book. Plus you cannot know the cockiness and confidence he has. I liked how protective Daemon was of his sister Dee, which was so sweet. I will admit even though I loved Daemon there were times where he was too much of a jerk, I actually wanted to slap him. One my favourite quotes from this book shows Daemon’s sweet side.

“I’ve always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect.” His eyes searched mine intently, and for a moment we stood there toe to toe. “The ones who throw their beauty around, waste what they have? Their beauty is only passing. It’s just a shell hiding nothing but shadows and emptiness.”

 I do not know if what I can class what was between Katy and Daemon as a ‘relationship’, they defiantly had the love and hate thing going on. I really liked that Katy was no shrinking violet in the relationship, she gave as good as she got. Daemon nickname of Kitten for Katy, reminded me of Bones from the Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost. The nickname made me sort of melt.

“I checked out your blog.”
“Stalking me again, I see. Do I need to get a restraining order?”
“In your dreams, Kitten. Oh wait, I’m already starring in those, aren’t I?”
“Nightmares, Daemon. Nightmares.”

 The style of written in this book was good, the story progressed well and I did not feel it dragged, there’s not much more I can add on top of the synopsis without giving the story away. For me this was one of those, cannot eat, cannot sleep, cannot work as I’m too busy reading. I honestly had a really had time putting the book down and am now thinking I need this book for my bookshelf too as currently I own it as an ebook.

 Dee was a good character too, I enjoyed that she did not cave under pressure to not be Katy’s friend. I glad she was able to stick up for herself but also appreciate that what Daemon said, he said because he loved her.

 I have purchased the next book in the series and I am currently reading it! I would recommend this book.

 Happy Reading!!

2 thoughts on “Obsidian – Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux book 1)

Leave a Reply

