Wait for You – J. Lynn (Wait For You Book 1)

This book was a really heavily recommended one, I had multiple people on Instagram tell me how awesome it was and so I had high expectations. This book actually met those expectations so I was impressed.

Warning this book has mature content and mentions a sensitive issue. 

Synopsis:

Some things are worth waiting for…

Traveling thousands of miles from home to enter college is the only way nineteen-year-old Avery Morgansten can escape what happened at the Halloween party five years ago—an event that forever changed her life. All she needs to do is make it to her classes on time, make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and maybe—please God—make a few friends, because surely that would be a nice change of pace. The one thing she didn’t need and never planned on was capturing the attention of the one guy who could shatter the precarious future she’s building for herself.

Some things are worth experiencing…

Cameron Hamilton is six feet and three inches of swoon-worthy hotness, complete with a pair of striking blue eyes and a remarkable ability to make her want things she believed were irrevocably stolen from her. She knows she needs to stay away from him, but Cam is freaking everywhere, with his charm, his witty banter, and that damn dimple that’s just so… so lickable. Getting involved with him is dangerous, but when ignoring the simmering tension that sparks whenever they are around each other becomes impossible, he brings out a side of her she never knew existed.

Some things should never be kept quiet…

But when Avery starts receiving threatening emails and phone calls forcing her to face a past she wants silenced, she’s has no other choice but to acknowledge that someone is refusing to allow her to let go of that night when everything changed. When the devastating truth comes out, will she resurface this time with one less scar? And can Cam be there to help her or will he be dragged down with her?

And some things are worth fighting for…

Rating: 4.5 Stars

I can sum this book up in one word: Cam. I think I am in love. Cam was an amazing character, he just leaves me speechless. I will admit I was hyperventilating at some points in this book, ugh Cam is just so brilliant. There’s not much that I can say about this book other than the fact that I loved it and am going to buy the next book in the series. I will never be able to eat cookies without thinking about him.

‘Are you sure?’ he asked. ‘I have cookies.’ ‘Cookies?’ My brows rose. ‘Yeah, and I made them. I’m quite the baker.’

Now that I’m reflecting on this book, the characters remind me abit of Noah and Echo from Pushing the Limits. I really enjoyed that book too, and this book in my opinion is on par with it. This one of the better New Adult books I have read. I did have a slight niggle with the story, I felt that Avery should have opened up and trusted Cam when he confided everything to her and trusted her with all of his ‘secrets’. I can see why she struggled to open up to him, you can guess her secret from the start of the book but this does not take away from the story.

I felt Avery pushed Cam away too much, when you could tell he was understanding and not pushing her for too much. I will admit that Cam was my favourite out of the main characters. He outshone Avery, this is not because of his looks, but his personality and how beautiful of a character he was. Thank you J. Lynn for writing a character such as him, I enjoyed read a book where the main guy was not a bad boy.

The book was well written and I look forward to reading more books by this author. To be honest the Harry Potter reference totally won me over. This is something that I would totally do  aswell, I mean who does not make random Harry Potter references?

‘That so reminds me of Harry Potter,’ Brit said, sighing. ‘I need a reread.’ We all turned to her. Two bright spots appeared in her cheeks as she tossed her blond hair back. ‘What? I’m not ashamed to admit that random things remind me of Harry Potter.’

I liked Jacob and Brit, they were good friends to Avery. I hope they appear in the future stories as I want to know what happens to them. Everyone needs a friend like Jacob!

There’s not much that I can add to this review or say about this book other than read it.

Happy Reading!!

5 thoughts on “Wait for You – J. Lynn (Wait For You Book 1)

  1. I’m not a big fan of the NA genre, but this is probably one of my favorites. It’s a little too graphic at times and the plot slides a little into the too ridiculous at times, too, but I liked the characters (Cam!) and the overall story. There’s a companion book for this that’s in Cam’s view that I also enjoyed (but was still a wee bit disappointed in because I wanted to see lots of “hidden scenes” from when he wasn’t with Avery and then EVERY scene through his eyes and it leaves out a few). After that, though, every book in this series got worse for me. But I think I’m in the minority with that opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most NA books are graphic now though. Glad you enjoyed it too. Oh really? I would like to see more of Cams POV but like you mentioned I would want to see what he did when Avery wasn’t there. I’ll pick the second book in the series up soon and will let you know what I think too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

