Whiter than Snow – Matthew Eldridge

I received this book in exchange for a honest review.

High Res Book Cover SnowWhite jpg (1)

Synopsis:

Whiter Than Snow is the suspensefully dark tale based on the true life of Snow White, as never told before. Because of the prophesies, Snow White is hidden from her true identity as a princess. Living as a servant in the king’s cottage and enduring the jealous wrath of the sinister queen, she attracts the forbidden attention of the delicious Prince Philip of Spain. However, only after falling in love does she discover he’s to be engaged to another ruler, the Queen of England, Bloody Mary. If the two join kingdoms, the evil queen’s reign of terror and quest to eliminate Protestant Christians around the world would be unstoppable. But there is hope. If the prince discovers Snow White’s hidden identity as a princess, true love may stop the planned massacre.

This isn’t an old tale told in a new way. This is the story uncovering deep truths about the real Snow White, Margarete, and her sacrificial love for the dear Prince Philip. Everything else is a fairy tale.

Rating: 3.5

Personally Snow White was my least favourite Disney film, I am more of a Beauty and the Beast girl. It must be the library that won me over (Plus the message behind it), but I was really interested in reading this book. The synopsis sounded intriguing and so I gave it ago. I’m glad I did, this was a enjoyable book. I do think it has more potential and there is room for some improvements but it was a good solid read.

I had a really hard time deciding what to rate this book,  because I really enjoyed it but I had some issues that knocked the rating down. It was going to be more of a 4 star rating but Margarete started to annoy me a little in the middle of the book. At first I liked that Margarete was a bit flawed as it made her more relatable, however I found her to be childish and naive at times nearing the end. I do understand that she is young and so there can be a lack of maturity at times but still it had a small impact on the enjoyment of this book. I will admit that there was some character development in her though.

I liked that fact that in this book we got to see more of Prince Philip so we got some insight into him, he was not that likeable at the start of the story but he grew on me. There was more character development in Prince Philip and liked I said I was hoping for a happy ending for him at the end of the book.

The book is set when the Protestant Christians religion is just sort of coming about and more people are accepting it, however they cannot openly accept being Protestant. The detail the book went in regarding the Catholic and Protestant religions was interesting, I do not know much about it other than what I’ve learned in religious education or history so I found it fascinating.

The book was well paced but my only niggle with the writing was sometimes I could not tell who was speaking as I did not know how’s POV it was. Oh my word the ending of this book was really well done, it actually helped me to like Margarete a bit more, and I loved that we got to see more about Prince Philip then aswell. I need to actually to know what happens now, what happened just cannot be! I cannot say anything more without giving the book away but the ending is a cliff hanger.

So the book is a good read, it had few niggles in but I would say give it ago if it sounds like your kind of thing. You can find more details and buy the book here.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

