Reading Slump

I do not own this image it is taken from the internet.

I have noticed with the last couple of books that I have read, I had a hard time connecting with the characters or storyline. This is probably my fault rather than the books, I think I am in a reading slump. Normally to get over a reading slump I reread my favourite book, but I read The Unwanted Wife a couple of weeks ago instead this time I tried to see if maybe starting a new book will get me out of my reading slump. This doesn’t seem to work for me, so I’m going to reread another one of my favourite books, The Devil in Winter. Hopefully my reading slump will not last long.

How do you get out of reading slumps? Do you reread a favourite or try and find a new book to read? Are there any books you’d recommend to help me get out of my slump?

8 thoughts on “Reading Slump

  1. Oh, man, I’m too familiar with the reading slump struggle–I’ve been suffering through it all year! I think I’m in a slump/book hangover. A book that I’d recommend for getting out of a slump is Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins (unless you’ve already read it! :D). It’s a pretty short, fast paced read, and it’s not too heavy. It’s a really fun book, too. I hope you get out of your slump!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the only two ways around a reading slump are to either take a break from reading or to keep plowing through. Slumps are always temporary, so it’s just a matter of finding which way works best for us. I tend not to re-read only because I’m a slow reader and have a massive TBR pile to keep up with… so I just keep on reading. Somehow it always works!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When I get in the reading slump, I usually just take a break for a few days and focus on something different, usually homework haha. That helps me most times. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

