Naked in Death – J.D.Robb Aka Nora Roberts (In Death Book 1)

I decided to reread one of my favourite books. I have read this twice previously, I honestly adore the relationship in this, the mystery/action, the characters. I would put this book on par with The Unwanted Wife and as you all know I have reread that about 4 times this year and multiple times last year. I recommend this book, it is one of my absolute favorites. I have spoken about this book before on my blog and I have no intention of reading all 40 but it is a great series. Defiantly pick up the first few books.

This book is a romance but it is more a mystery/action book which is something I would not usually pick up but this book has made me consider more romance that also have mysteries in.

Warning this is an Adult book, which contains mature content such as violence, sex and mentions rape. Recommended for 18+

Synopsis:

It is the year 2058, and technology now completely rules the world. But New York City Detective Eve Dallas knows that the irresistible impulses of the human heart are still ruled by just one thing-passion.

When a senator’s daughter is killed, the secret life of prostitution she’d been leading is revealed. The high-profile case takes Lieutenant Eve Dallas into the rarefied circles of Washing-ton politics and society.

Further complicating matters is Eve’s growing attraction to Roarke, who is one of the wealthiest and most influential men on the planet, devilishly handsome… and the leading suspect in the investigation.

Ratings: 5 Stars 

This book takes place in 2058, the world has evolved and the police department no longer use guns but rather lasers, cars can now hover and space travel is possible. Even though there are these changes to the ‘normal’ world as we know it these do not confuse the reader. At no point in this book did the setting of this book make me think hey what’s going on. This book is based on Lieutenant Eve Dallas, she undertakes a case in which a client has murdered a licensed companion and plans to murder 5 more. I will not say much more on the story line as it defiantly a must read and I do not want to give anything away. I love Eve as a character, she has had such a bad upbringing and younger life but she is a fighter and she has come out top by becoming a police officer. She has 10 years on the force under her belt even though she is only 28 years old. Eve puts her all into everything she does and that is what makes you love her. One of the suspects in the case is billionaire Roarke, but when these two meets there is a sort of attraction between them. Roarke is the one who is the first to acknowledge the attraction though because Eve always holds back from everyone and does not let anyone come too close.

I love Roarke, his dialogues are amazing and he can be such a sweet character.

“I want to see you again.” He stopped, took her face in his hands. “I need to see you again.”

Her pulse jumped, as if it had nothing to do with the rest of her. “Roarke, what’s going on here?”

“Lieutenant.” He leaned forward, touched his lips to hers. “indications are we’re having a romance.”

Who in the right mind can say no to someone that? I cannot describe my love for Roarke. What I like about this book is Roarke is the one who wants to purse a ‘relationship’ or at least see where the attraction goes. I like that he is the first to admit his feelings and then is not afraid to share them. These two do have a relationship it is not a case of instant love. What I like about the relationship is I feel that both characters are equal, they are partners rather than one having to look out for the other all the time. They both pull their own weight but still they are there for each other. I really like Roarke’s take charge attitude as I feel Eve needs that. The relationship reminds me of Elena and Raphael from Angel’s Blood which is another book I love. What I liked seeing was the relationship and trust develop as the story goes on. I felt so much satisfaction when Eve admits to maybe missing Roarke a little.

“That was the biggest problem with getting used to someone, she thought. You were lonely when they weren’t there.”

I cannot describe the writing in this book, it is so well written and gripping. You are literally sucked into the story and need to know what happens straight away. J D Robb has written such an intense book. The dialogues are brilliant and at no point did I hate or want to shake any of the main characters for making stupid decisions.

Read this book!

Happy Reading!!

4 thoughts on “Naked in Death – J.D.Robb Aka Nora Roberts (In Death Book 1)

  1. Pingback: Bye bye 2014 and Hello 2015 | hyperaboutbooks

Leave a Reply

