Switched – Amanda Hocking (Trylle book 1)

When I read the prologue of this book I knew it was going to be good! However I didn’t enjoy the book as much as I thought I would it was an ok book. I honestly did not know much about this book and series. The only reason I picked it up was I loved the covers and I got all 3 books in a charity shop but they look completely new.

Synopsis:

When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn’t until eleven years later that Wendy finds out her mother might’ve been telling the truth. With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed – and it’s one she’s not sure if she wants to be a part of.

Ratings 2.5 Stars 

Wendy has always felt different and that she did not fit in. At the age of 6 her mother tried to kill her but was unsuccessful, and so her brother Matt and aunt Maggie took over taking care of Wendy while her mother Kim was hospitalized in a institution. Matt and Maggie has moved all over to try and help Wendy fit in as she somehow manages to get expelled from the schools she attends. She  meet Finn at her new school and she finds out exactly why she has never fit in. She was switched as a baby and she is actually a Troll or a ‘changeling’.

I found Wendy to be a bit childish and spoilt especially because she was suppose to be nearing 18, and so that affected my enjoyment of the book. I guess that can be kind of forgiven as this is YA book and we can be a bit immature in our teenage years. I liked that Wendy was trying to improve for her bother and aunt, and by the end of the book she really had grown on me. I felt bad for Wendy when she was taken to Forening, no one would explain things to her or help her to understand beyond what they thought she needed to know. There’s nothing worst than being left in the dark.

I’m undecided on Finn, he was mysterious and I wanted to know more about him but I think he was unnecessarily cruel at the start to Wendy and I do not like people who do the hot and cold thing which he is an expert in. I do understand why he’s doing considering who Wendy is and that he cannot show if he is attracted to her but it still annoys me. I liked the though of Finn and Wendy better as a couple near the end of the book as I guess both characters grew on me.

I really really loved Matt in this book, he was the best older brother you can have. I actually adored him and it broke my heart when Finn told Wendy that he was there to take her to Forening. Both of Wendy’s mother were a certain word I cannot post on a blog. They were just so cold and unfeeling, defiantly not maternal. The other characters in the book were well developed and I enjoyed reading about them. I like Rhys and hope he gets a happy ending.

The writing was good I think my problem was with the story. I do not like how the Tylle could be so blase about letting specifically rich people raise their children, then once the children have grown up, bringing them back to Forening and getting them to manipulate their so called ‘parents’ into giving them a large inheritance so their ‘real parents’ can lead a life of comfort?! What the heck?! I honestly could not get my head around that, but what made it better was Wendy did not agree with this either. I will continue with the series to see what happens.

There’s not much else to say about this book. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

