Die for me – Amy Plum (Revenants book 1)

Synopsis:

In the City of Lights, two star-crossed lovers battle a fate that is destined to tear them apart again and again for eternity.

When Kate Mercier’s parents die in a tragic car accident, she leaves her life–and memories–behind to live with her grandparents in Paris. For Kate, the only way to survive her pain is escaping into the world of books and Parisian art. Until she meets Vincent.

Mysterious, charming, and devastatingly handsome, Vincent threatens to melt the ice around Kate’s guarded heart with just his smile. As she begins to fall in love with Vincent, Kate discovers that he’s a revenant–an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save the lives of others. Vincent and those like him are bound in a centuries-old war against a group of evil revenants who exist only to murder and betray. Kate soon realizes that if she follows her heart, she may never be safe again.

Rating: 3 Stars

First of all can i mention just how beautiful the cover of this book is? It is just so pretty!

This was an good book, it was a solid read for me but I did not think it was amazing. The story starts off in Paris where Kate and her sister Georgia have moved to be with their grandparents after their parents death. I liked that in this book Kate is shown struggling with her grief and we see her trying to overcome it, different people deal with grief differently and so it made her seem that much more real and I could relate to her (even though thankfully I have never been through anything like that). Kate is just trying to get her life back together and both herself and her sister have different ways of dealing with their grief. While Georgia gets more outgoing and social, Kate becomes more introverted and and likes her own company with her books.

I do not actually have much to say about this book. I liked Amy’s different take on Zombies, as I have never heard or read anything on revenants before so that was interesting to read. The writing was enjoyable in this book, the action was well paced and there were some bits that made me chuckle out loud. For example, “You could feel concentrated feminine tension in the air as the three guys walked past the terrace. As if a team of Armani underwear models had walked straight up to the café and, in unison, ripped off al their clothes”.

“Well, spit on my empty grave–if it ain’t the attack of the Disney princesses!”

There were a few points in the book that I found to be very unbelievable, for example the fighting in the end. I do not think it’s possible to gain strength like that no matter what. I realise I am being super vague but I do not want to give the story away.  I did not like the instant love sort of thing. Even though it was not love it was more of a bit of instant obsession, I’ve never been in love but is that the way it normally happens. Is it normal to always think about the other person and kinda stalk them? However Amy managed to redeem the ‘relationship’ for me because Kate did not straight away agree to be with the hot mysterious boy for the rest of her life. I liked how Kate had to think about it and then made a decision. I think it was more the fact that she did not find it odd that Vincent was keeping tabs/stalking her that annoys me.  Vincent was sweet and he was so good with Kate. I did not find him to be very memorable though, he is unfortunately not one of my new book boyfriends ;). My favorite quote of  Vincent’s is,

“I can’t promise you an ordinary experience, Kate. I wish I could transform myself into a normal man and be there for you, always, without the trauma that defines my life as “the walking dead.” Since that isn’t possible, I can only reassure you that I will do everything in my power to make it up to you. To give you more than a normal boyfriend could.
I have no idea what that will mean, exactly, but I’m looking forward to finding out. With you.”

Anyways give this book ago, it was a good read but not one I think I will pick up again. I will continue with the series just to see what happens.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Die for me – Amy Plum (Revenants book 1)

Leave a Reply

