The Gemstone – Sarena and Sasha Nanua (The Pendant Book 1)

I love reading adult books but sometimes nothing can beat a good YA story. I love reading YA books especially when the book takes you by surprise. One of my favourite YA books that I do not think gets the attention it should is The Darkest Power Trilogy by Kelley Armstrong. This book reminded me of Kelley’s books. I think it was the main character in both books they are really innocent and young.

I received this book in exchange for a honest review.

IMG_20140909_175333[1]

Synopsis:

One gemstone that changed her life… Now it was almost before me. My breath quickened as I struggled to let go of the necklace. I even stood to pull the box with me, but the ribbon of the necklace reddened my wrist like a hot coal and I cried out in pain. Suddenly all I heard was my breath-in, out. The figure moved quicker and quicker, closer and closer…
The figure was now above me, drifting over my head, and then it tumbled on me with the force of gravity.

And then with a whimper, I fell unconscious as darkness surrounded me.

ARICA MILLER is thrilled to begin her sophomore year at Hill Valley Private Arts Academy. Little does she know that the prestigious school holds more hidden secrets than she’d anticipated-especially with the headmistress. After she accidentally comes into contact with a mysterious gemstone necklace, she receives strange hallucinations that connect to her family’s past. Arica soon realizes that this is no regular necklace, but a necklace that contains power beyond her knowledge. And that’s not all. Her world unwinds as she is absorbed with knowledge of a world of sorcery.

All dating up to Halloween night, Arica must face suspicious friends, monstrous creatures, and the truth of her family’s connection with sorcery. But worst of all, she must face a powerful enemy keen on only one thing: the gemstones.

Rating: 3.5

I enjoyed this book, the story line was interesting and I wanted carry on reading even if I had to do other things. I do not want to add more about the plot as I do not want to give the book away but the synopsis above pretty much covers it. I liked the main character Arica, she is 15 but she is not made to be too childish which sometimes I find can happen in YA books. Saying that I think she was a bit too accepting of magic, there was no incredulity which I thought would have been the normal reaction as she’s knew nothing about magic before. I have to admit there was a bad guy in the book but I spent the entire book trying to work out who else was an accomplice and who was good. The other characters in this book were interesting, I liked Joseph the best.

This is a well written book considering that it is Sarena and Sasha’s first book. There was a scene with a mango that made me chuckle out loud, so hats off to the authors for thinking and writing such a enjoyable book. I am not just saying this as they sent me a copy of the book but because I did actually enjoy it, though I will admit this will not be everyone’s cup of tea. My niggle with the writing is there can be too much description at points and there are parts that I feel do not add to the story or description so could have been missed out. This does not take too much away from the enjoyment of the book however.

I did think at points in the story that things were too convenient, as the characters needed to discover something or something needed to happen for the story to move on and so it did, but this was just a minor issue and hopefully this will improve with the next book in the series as the story has been established. The book ended on such a big cliffhanger once everything was just getting really interesting. I really want to find out what happens and will at some point soon pick up the next book.

This is a good solid read, so if you enjoy books such a The Summoning or YA books with young character then give this a go 🙂 Do not forget to leave me a comment if you check it out!

Thank you to the lovely Sarena and Sasha for giving this to me to review 🙂

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “The Gemstone – Sarena and Sasha Nanua (The Pendant Book 1)

Leave a Reply

