Finding time to read

I’ve always been a firm believer that if you are enjoying a book or just like reading then you make time to read. I have heard (and read on social media) about other people who struggle to fit in reading into their everyday routines due to the hecticness (is that even a word?) of their life. I will admit I use to think well you always have time to read, as you make it by staying up late or things like that, so I have no idea what you are talking about. I cannot think of a better word than that I was a bit of a snob thinking well I can make time to read so it cannot be that hard.

I will put my hands up and admit I was wrong and I apologise to everyone who has been too busy to read as I now feel your pain. It’s not that I haven’t been busy before but this week has been particularly hectic and so this realisation has crept up on me. I have no achievement or anything to show for this last week where I have had no time literally to read, I just have the reason that I was too busy. It has been especially busy at work this last week, I tided and rearrange my room, and have just been ill and tired so reading has taken a backseat. I will shame myself into admitting that in the last week and a half I have only finished 1/2 a book (I had 156 pages to read) and read 89 pages of another. For me this is unusual, as I can finish 2/3 or more books a week depending on how fast I read them. I’m not saying finishing 1/2 a book is not good, it’s just for me this is not much. I really am enjoying the book I am currently reading, it is interesting and I really want to know what happens but I have only managed 89 pages of it so far.

Do you struggle to find time to read? How do you manage this?

9 thoughts on “Finding time to read

  1. Oh my gosh I feel your pain. Since uni has started I just don’t have as much time (I’ve been reading about a book a week – the struggle is real)… If my friends aren’t trying to drag me out (this is their line” “it’s our last semester at uni, we have to party hard and work hard” – seriously, I’m dying over here), then I have other friends getting me to play computer games with them (I’m a full out dork hahaha). I’m alright with reading a book a week at the moment because I don’t have enough time, and if I get my head absorbed in a book I find it really hard to do uni work… So the reviews on my blog will be relatively limited until December hehe. I have been meaning to download audiobooks for the last 3 weeks but still haven’t gotten round to it, I think that might be really good for me. 🙂

    I feel like I’ve been babbling in this comment, sorry if it goes on for ages and I’m talking in circles haha. XD I hope you manage to find time to read as much as you normally do, I certainly wish I had more! Great post Sumaira! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I seriously lack reading time because my college major is really time consuming but I am that person who is reading on the treadmill or the bike in the gym and I always read before I fall asleep and make time if I love the book I am reading!!;)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First of all I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you
    do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I’ve had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.

    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it
    just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally
    lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips?
    Many thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for you comment! Sorry for not replying earlier, just seen it – It somehow slipped through my notifications. They way I usually prepare myself to blog is by keep a list of topics I want to discuss, then I know I work best in the morning time so always try to write my blog posts then. This might be different for you, so have a think about what time you are most productive and then write a blog post. I also like to schedule posts, so I can be working on a blog post for maybe 2/3 days, then I’ll schedule it to be posted and as soon as I’m in the zone again to write or blog I’ll start working on my next post even if it’s not suppose to be posted until a weeks time. That’s what I normally. Hope my tips help! Good Luck with your writing! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

