Feral Sins – Suzanne Wright (The Phoenix Pack book 1)

This is another reread of mine and I was just going to use my original review I added to Goodreads but have found my opinion has changed just slightly so I thought I’d review it properly.

Warning this is an adult erotica book and contains loads of bad language. Recommended for 18+. I’m not a prude but some scenes and language even turned the top of my ears red.

I would like to say that depending on which version of the book you get there is a graphic ménage scene. The e-books re-released on February 19, 2013 do not contain it, it has been replaced with a sex scene between Trey and Taryn. The scene was not my cup of tea and I purchased the re-released e-book but originally read this book with the ménage scene in it which I skipped. Just thought I’d mention incase anyone purchases the original version.

IMG_20140916_222518[1]

Synopsis:

If your inner wolf and your body react rather enthusiastically to a psychotic Alpha male who’s own wolf has a tendency to turn feral, it can’t be a good thing, can it? Entering into a bargain with him wouldn’t be good either. Unfortunately, Taryn Warner, a latent wolf shifter, doesn’t have many options open to her right now. Okay, she has no options. Basically it comes down to whether she’ll do what it takes to escape the arranged mating with the sick SOB that her father set up. As the answer in this case is yes, it looks as though she’ll have to agree to Trey Coleman’s deal…she’ll have to mate with him instead.

Having always disliked shifter politics, Trey Coleman hadn’t bothered trying to form alliances with other packs. Now that his uncle – a wolf with many alliances – means to take Trey’s territory and his pack, he has no option but to form some alliances of his own very quickly or he’ll be easily outnumbered in the upcoming battle. He figures that the easiest way to do that would be to mate with a female whose Alpha is powerful and influential. There’s only one problem with that – he would then be stuck with her, and the last thing Trey wants is a mate. When he hears of Taryn’s situation, he offers her a deal – if she falsely claims he’s her true mate and allows him to claim her, he’ll save her from her arranged mating and then let her leave after the battle with his uncle is over.

Sounds like a pretty straightforward deal…but soon Taryn and Trey realize they got more than they bargained for. Their mating instincts to protect and possess are weighing on them, they crave each other’s touch and company, and their inner wolves don’t like it whenever they’re apart. Add in that they’ll have to deal with this for an entire three months until the day of the battle finally arrives, and they’ve got themselves a recipe for disaster – or maybe for something quite the opposite.

Rating: 4 Stars

This book was really good, I did not want to put my Kindle down at all. This has to be one of the better shifter stories I’ve read. There nothing that I can add that the large synopsis I ‘borrowed’ from Goodreads hasn’t said without giving the entire book away. I’ve mentioned before that this book has a lot of bad language and very descriptive sex scenes so please do not read it if this offends you. Some of Taryn sarcasm can be a bit too far sometimes but I found it funny, so again if this offends you please give it a miss.

Ahh what to say about Trey he was just so Alpha and Sexy but so sweet at the same time. He says some of the sweetest things.

“You’re all there is for me, Taryn. I’m broken baby. You know that. Before you… it was like those bits of me were just scattered all over the place. I’ve never felt whole. Not until you. You hold those pieces together. It’s not an exaggeration when I say you hold my sanity in your hands. Without you, I’d fall apart.” .

“All I know is that I don’t want you to leave. If you do I’ll hunt you down and bring you back, Taryn. I sh*t you not, I will. Not because of our deal or my wolf, but because I want you here with me.”

Trey is also a very dirty talker, seriously do not read this book in public! I would like to point out there were parts of the story where I thought Trey was a massive blockhead and I wanted to slap him to make him silly because he was being stupid but I got over that feeling when he started to do as I wanted him to lol.

What made the book that more enjoyable was Taryn was such an amazing character, she had a spine and would not let anyone walk all over her (Go Girl!). She was an Alpha female and her sarcasm sometimes made me laugh out loud. It was refreshing that Trey did not want to repress Tayrn’s Alpha personality. The sarcasm and wit in the book had me in stitches. Someones I felt that Taryn did go too far but I did also find it funny too.

The only reason this is a 4 star rating and not a 5 as it should be is that there was a certain part where Trey annoyed me and that there were just a couple of comments made by Taurn that I thought went too far. Also there is something such as a too perfect ending and I found it a bit to perfect (you’ll understand what I mean when you read this). If you like what you’ve read in this review are are not offended by a dirty talking Alpha who wants to be incharge then give this a read.

Happy Reading!

I’m really going to have to read a YA book next to calm myself down lol

2 thoughts on “Feral Sins – Suzanne Wright (The Phoenix Pack book 1)

  1. I’ve had this book on my TBR list for a while now because I loved Suzanne Wright’s “Deep in your veins” series! I can’t wait to read it!

    I so agree with you on “too happy” endings – they can really be so annoying! I don’t know what it is that makes me not like them that much.

    Great review once again Sumaira! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

