Born in Sin – Kinley MacGregor (Brotherhood/MacAllister #3)

Haha I know you are all thinking book 3 what happened to book 2?! Well I have read this series before and remember book 2 being ok but not my favorite so I decided to skip it and move straight on to book 3 as I remember liking it and doing a review on it. I always like to try and review the books that I do not hear people talk about or see posts relating to them on Social Media. This is probably because all the books were released years ago! However I like reading them and then sharing the love with everyone else by reviewing them :D.

You may wish to read book 2 as that when the MacAllister brothers are introduced considering book  is on Draven and they do not feature in it. I was happy just to jump to book 3 as I have read the series before and there just a couple of references to the previous books. Nothing major that would hinder the enjoyment of this book.

Warning this is an adult book, it contains mild sex scenes (Like I always say you can skip these though if you want)

Synopsis:

Stunning Caledonia MacNeely fights an unfamiliar shiver when she is offered in marriage to the infamous ′Lord Sin′. Though Callie fears this mysterious knight – less for the dark whispers that damn him than for the burning desire he invokes – she is under order of the English King. And with the fate of her troubled clan hanging in the balance, she has little recourse.

Rating: 4.5 Stars 

While reading this book it actually reminded me of another book I love, the story line and the characters were similar in a way. Both feature a hero who feels unworthy and a really strong willed heroine. The book I am referring to is Never Love a Highlander by Maya Banks. I think I have to go reread that now!

This book was amazing. This in my opinion is a emotional read. Caledonia and her younger brother are being held hostage by King Henry as he is trying to stop the Scots from attacking the English and catch the infamous Raider who is causing trouble for the English in Scotland. King Henry has decided to marry her off to Lord Sin so he can go to Scotland and catch the raider while also stopping the attacks on the English. Sin is a tortured hero, he has lives through atrocious times that no one should have had to bear, he’s been beaten, tortured and for me the worst is unloved. Sin feels unworthy of love due to the life he has had to live and because no one has loved him before. He is also very mistrustful and he believes nothing good can happen to him and he can only count on himself.  My heart actually broke when I was reading about Sin’s past. Sin is against the marriage but agrees knowing the King cannot find a priest who will bless the marriage as Sin is referred to as the devil’s own. At first Caledonia does not accept the decree to marry and she tries to escape multiple times, but as she see the goodness hidden in Sin she accepts that for her freedom she needs to marry him and just maybe it will not be so bad. Both marry and this is where the story progresses from here.

It was a nice change to see a Caledonia accept Sin even if she was forced to marry him and not hold it against it. I love how she wanted to make the relationship work and accepted him. Usually in books like these the heroine may like/lust after the hero but if they are married against their will they hold it against the hero instead of trying to see if they can make the relationship work out. That is until the end of the book in which they discover they are in love and cannot live apart. I am glad to say this book is different to that, Caledonia marries Sin and then she tries to get to know him and tries to get him to understand and accept her too, so that they can make their marriage work and be happy with loads of children! The focus of the marriage between these two was a friendship/love not just lust. I always adore romance books that make me feel like the two characters love each other rather than lust each other. Poor Sin he feels unworthy of Caledonia, he believes she is too good for him. He tries so hard to try and resist the love/relationship/acceptance that Caledonia is offering him.

This book was well written and again some of the dialogues made me laugh out loud. The perfect examples being:

“Halt! Halt, I say!”
“Oh, that’s effective. Halt or I shall say halt again.”

“I was angry with you”
“For what?”
“Sleeping on the floor again. What is it with you and the floor? Most women have to fear their husbands are in the bed of another. Me, ’tis the hearth I envy.”

Oh I loved seeing Simon reappear in this book, he was a really goo character and comedy relief. Also it was nice seeing the other MacAllister brothers as you really wanted to get to know them and read their story.

My only slight niggle with the story is the epilogue, something happens which makes me think really after all this time?! I do not want to say what happens but for me I do not think I believed it. Well I have believed it but I do not think Sin should have been ok with it.

Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “Born in Sin – Kinley MacGregor (Brotherhood/MacAllister #3)

Leave a Reply

