Master of Desire – Kinley Macgregor (Brotherhood/MacAllister #1)

Warning there is some mature content (sex) in this book

In my mind Draven does not look like this cover. I picture him differently.

Synopsis:

A Dream of Desire Awakened…

Beautiful Lady Emily dreams of the rapture of love and the joys of marriage. The youngest daughter of an English lord at war, she is shaken by the arrival of a mysterious stranger to her father’s castle. Could this breathtaking man be Emily’s yearned-for lover? Indeed, Draven de Montague, Earl of Ravenswood, has come for Emily…but romance has nothing to do with it.

In the Tender Embrace of an Enemy…

Draven would never have entered the home of his most hated adversary had not the King himself ordered him to take in his foe’s daughter for a year to forge bonds of peace between their two feuding houses. Worse still, here is a lass whose exquisite loveliness could tempt Draven to betray his sworn vow never to let anther close to his heart. Emily knows the searing heat of her passion could burn down the defenses of this proud warrior. But will the surrender of the sweet nectar of his lips and his bold, sensuous caress ignite a blaze so hot it consumes them both?

Ratings: 4.5 Stars

I love this book! Who does not love the tortured hero stories? Especially when they think they are not worth of any love ad tare this horrible person when actually they are one the sweetest guys ever. Draven is one of these hero’s, he is amazing and I feel sorry for the way he grew up. The book starts off with  Emily’s father Hugh bringing Draven infront of the king as he believes Draven has raided one of the villages under his care. To make peace the King ask Hugh to give something to Draven that he cherishes beyond anything and for Draven to do the same. Nothing means more to Draven than his honor and so he is forced to give a vow that he will look after and keep Hugh’s youngest daughter Emily without touching her in anger or lust for an entire year. Reluctantly both agree to his, Draven goes to retrieve Emily from her father’s house to her back to his castle. The story progresses from here. Emily has been sheltered by her father all her life and so seeing someone as handsome as Draven she likes what she sees. I was worried that this book that I was not going to like the story if the lve was based on Emily not being around me and so settling for Draven as there has been no one else, but I was impressed that this book did not go down that route. I  felt that both characters likes each other for what they were. They honestly developed a relationship between them rather that it just being lust.

I liked Emily too, she was a good character. She was not afraid to speak her mind, she was upfront and she did not back down from what she wanted or quiver in fear when facing Draven. The wit in this book actually made me laugh and the writing was really good. I have just recently learned that Kinley Macgregor is Sherrilyn Kenyon and considering I like her writing and books in the Dark Hunter series I am not shocked that I liked this book too. The writing of this book is well done, the story is well paced and at no point did I not feel engrossed in the book. I felt the funny parts in this book were funny and the author did not try too hard to make them so that it actually makes the writing awkward.

“Allow me to present myself, milady. I am Simon of Ravenswood, brother to the ogre, and your most fervent protector for this journey.”
Wonderful. And pray tell who will protect her from your drooling? Should I have my squire fetch rags now, or should I wait until she starts to drown?”

The secondary characters in the book were interesting too, I look forward to reading Simon’s story.  I do have to ask how come these type of books always have maid that are ‘loose’ with their morals. Really? I don’t think all maids back in that time were like that. I’m excited to actually continue with this series 😀

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Master of Desire – Kinley Macgregor (Brotherhood/MacAllister #1)

Leave a Reply

