Love Triangles

Image taken from Google, Credit given to whoever’s image it is.

What is a love triangle? According to Wikipedia, “A love triangle is usually a romantic relationship involving three people. While it can refer to two people independently romantically linked with a third, it usually implies that each of the three people has some kind of relationship to the other two”. What I define as a love triangle is annoying and frustrating!

So I was thinking to do a post about this and read a post on the lovely Anna’s blog (Cool girls read too) about this. She loves love triangles, while I do not like them. Usually I try to avoid books with big love triangles in, I do read them sometimes but I prefer books without them.

Small love triangles are ok, by small love triangles I mean that two men/women may like the leading male/female character but there’s not too much angst and the main character has a preference for one of the characters in the love triangle. I hate the drawn out ‘oh I but I love both people how am I ever going to chose’?

Large love triangles really do annoy me. Not naming any books..*cough* Twilight *cough*. What annoys me about these love triangles is the main character is in love with both the interests. You cannot love both people! That is my main niggle with Twilight. Bella loves Jacob but she loves Edward so much more…I can not deal with that and so it impacts my enjoyment of the book. I much prefer books where the person knows who they want and they get together and try to make their relationship work, for example Archer’s Voice, Poison Study, Fangirl and Angels’ blood to name a few.

I can admit there are some books out there that handle a love triangle well, I think with these books usually the main character does not try to encourage any of the interests if they prefer both but tries to reason who they like better out before getting involved. The best example of a book that handles a love triangle will is the Darkest Powers Trilogy.

What about you? Do you like love triangles? If you do love love triangles then what do you enjoy about them?

11 thoughts on “Love Triangles

  1. Oooooooh! *squeals* Love triangles! XD You know how I feel about them! ^^’ I normally love them so much, but they can be so annoying. When a love triangle is done well, I really enjoy them (I always find that I end up choosing the guy the girl doesn’t end up with… Hmm.. I wonder what that says about my tastes in men XD ). I’ve never read Twilight and I never will, unfortunately the movies have definitely ruined it for me, but I’ve read some pretty bad love triangles as well. As soon as I don’t think the girl is worth fighting for, I start to get annoyed and fed up (or if she starts to fall for the guy I don’t want her to! Haha). Great post as always Sumaira! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do like love triangles when I feel they are done well. When our main loves one. I also like them when I don’t know who she will end up with. I’ve read a few books where I really liked both love interests and I wasn’t sure where the story was going. They both were lovable and held different parts of her heart. One was a forced marriage to a childhood friend and the other was a first love kinda thing.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve only read one from the Nightshade series by Andrea Cramer. i also really liked the Unearthly series by Cynthia Hands. I’m currently looking for more books with really well done love triangles. After I get through my review requests I hope to explore more books with love triangles.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

