Archangel’s Blade – Nalini Singh (Guild Hunter #4) – Contains Spoilers

This review contains spoilers. Please do not read it if you do not want the book to be spoiled and haven’t read the previous books.  

Warning this is an adult book it contains mature content, some gruesome scenes and contains a sensitive issue. It does not go into graphic details but this book does contain rape. 

IMG_20140904_184143[1]

Archangel’s Blade – Nalini Singh

Synopsis:

The severed head marked by a distinctive tattoo on its cheek should have been a Guild case, but dark instincts honed over hundreds of years of life compel the vampire Dmitri to take control. There is something twisted about this death, something that whispers of centuries long past…but Dmitri’s need to discover the truth is nothing to the vicious strength of his response to the hunter assigned to decipher the tattoo.

Savaged in a brutal attack that almost killed her, Honor is nowhere near ready to come face to face with the seductive vampire who is an archangel’s right hand, and who wears his cruelty as boldly as his lethal sensuality…the same vampire who has been her secret obsession since the day she was old enough to understand the inexplicable, violent emotions he aroused in her.

As desire turns into a dangerous compulsion that might destroy them both, it becomes clear the past will not stay buried. Something is hunting…and it will not stop until it brings a blood-soaked nightmare to life once more…

Ratings: 3 Stars (Still undecided about the rating though)

I found reviewing and rating this book really hard. This is not because I did not enjoy the book or I was not engrossed in the story but there were a couple of this Dmitri did that I did not like and I just had some niggles that I cannot get over to give this book a higher rating. My main issue with the book is near the end there is a specific scene in which Dmirti takes advantage of knowledge he gained from Honor about her feelings (can’t think of a better way of putting it) to try and hurt her. This put a damper on my enjoyment of the book. Dmitri decides that Honor knows more about his dead wife that she will not share with him. So he decides to taunt her with his fangs on her neck as he knows of what she suffered in her ordeal with the other vampires. This makes me so angry as he has spend the book helping her overcome her ordeal and punishing the vampires who carried it out. This act made me feel undermined their relationship.

I admit he contemplates trying to hurt her and even starts to but then decides not to as he understands it will completely break her, people may argue that because he didn’t actually hurt her it’s not a big deal. Two words, emotional betrayal. That what he does, he takes advantage of knowledge he has gain from honor because she trusted him and let him in to try and hurt her. At first Honor is upset wit him and asks him to leave her but literally after 5 minutes it’s ok. I’m not she should not forgive Dmitri at all but I do not believe she should forgiven him that easily. For me this did not gel with what how I say Honor, she was suppose to be someone who had been through something horrific and so had issues trusting and letting others in, so for her to forgive Dmirti straight away it did not work for me.

That issue aside the book was a good read, it had a good story and I was intrigued and grateful to get some insight into Dmitri’s thinking. I liked that I got to understand him better as I prefer other member’s on Rapheal’s seven based on previous reads. Both character’s were well developed and I thought Honor was a really good female lead as she worked to overcome her ordeal instead of let it hold her down.

The book is well writing and keeps you engrossed, the story line and good and the synopsis of this book covers the main gist of it. However I have finally figured out what confuses me about the writing sometime, there can be some dialogues between two characters in which it takes you a couple of minutes to work out who said what.

I found it sweet that even after all this time he still loved his wife. You figure out quickly that this book is going to be a reincarnation one. Nalini Singh handled the reincarnation side of this story really well too. I did not feel in this book that Dmitri only loved Honor because she was the reincarnation of his wife. They actually got to know each other, build the relationship and then find out.

Well done to Nalini Singh for another well written book. It’s just a shame I did not enjoy it. Do leave me a comment if you feel differently as I have read lots of 5 star reviews for this book.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

