A series I have no intention of finishing part 2

IMG_20140828_192313[1]

In Death Series – J D Robb

The In death series by J D Robb is another series I have no intention of finishing. I adored Naked in death, it honestly kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. The romance was amazing and well developed. Both Eve and Roarke were exceptional characters, god what to say about Roarke! I have to share one of my favorite moments from Naked in death.

“I want to see you again.” He stopped, took her face in his hands. “I need to see you again.”

Her pulse jumped, as if it had nothing to do with the rest of her. “Roarke, what’s going on here?”

“Lieutenant.” He leaned forward, touched his lips to hers. “indications are we’re having a romance.”

Read the first 3 books at least! I have read 7 books of this series and own the first 11 books. I will read the books that I have purchased of this series and have not read as yet. So if I find the books so far amazing, why do I not want to continue this series? That my friend is a good question and my answer is it is too long, there are just too many books. Currently there are 40 (yes 40!) books in this series so far, all based on Eve and Roarke and J D Robb plans to continue with this series.  I understand the feeling about never wanting a series to end but that is just too much. I guess if the other books were on different characters then 40 books is a series is not ridiculous but on the same ones. No way.  I love Eve and Roarke I think they are the best thing since sliced bread but I cannot read 40 books. That would bankrupt me if I spent so much money on one series. Plus I do not know if i’d start to feel that the story line is getting repetitive even though it would be a different crime in each book.

So read the 3 books of this series at least! They are amazing. If anyone has read all 40 books then please do share your feelings about the series with me.

9 thoughts on “A series I have no intention of finishing part 2

  1. I’ve actually bought Naked In Death the other day, so I will definitely try to read that one soon. I agree with you that 40 books in a series is way too many with so many great books out there. 😉

    Like

  2. Wow that is an incredibly long series! I’ve never heard of a book series being that long 😱 there’s no way I could continue either… I’d be scared that I’d start to slowly dislike or lose interest in the characters etc. The longest series I’ve read is 13 books (Sookie Stackhouse) 🙂 Great post, really interesting to read!

    Like

    • Thank you! I know I got book 7 and thought I wonder how many books there are and Googled it and found that it was 40! Exactly so I decided i won’t continue with the series. Oooh you finished the Sookie Stackhouse series? I have the first 9 books but I gave up on it.

      Like

      • I wish I had stopped after the first 7 or so books! The ending was AWFUL, haha. I was distraught over it, I couldn’t believe how everything happened in the last book. That’s why now I’m so cautious about long series 😞 I’ve got a few series now that I’m about to start (black dagger brotherhood and immortals after dark – and guild hunters but that’s not as long hehe) that are really long but I’m sooo excited to start after I get through this series I’m on now😁😁

        Like

  3. I’ve read every In Death book so far and loved them all. To me, each one feels different than the rest, just enough that I don’t find them repetitive or anything. The side characters help in that regard too. It’s by far my favorite book series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

