Angels’ Blood – Nalini Singh (Guild Hunter #1)

This book does not get enough love. I have only come across 1 person on Instagram who has read it so far. I thought i’d reread this and give it a review so more people can see what a fantastic and pick it up themselves. My love for this book may have to do with the fact that I want my own paid of wings and to be able to fly (It’s not possible I know lol)

Warning this is an adult book, it contains mature content, it has descriptive sex scenes (I feel like I say this about every book I read!). This also contains some bad language and what I feel are some gruesome scenes 

IMG_20140826_093926[1]

Angels’ Blood – Nalini Singh

Synopsis:

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux knows she is the best- but she does not know if even she is good enough for this job. Hired by the dangerously beautiful archangel Raphael, a being so lethal that no mortal wants his attention, Elena knows failure is not an option—even if the task is impossible.

Because this time, it’s not a wayward vamp she has to track. It’s an archangel gone bad.

The job will put Elena in the midst of a killing spree like no other—and pull her to the razor’s edge of passion. Even if the hunt does not destroy her, succumbing to Raphael’s seductive touch just might. For when archangels play, mortals break.

Rating: 5 Stars

This book has a different take on vampires and vampire hunters. Vampires are not born but they are created, not through a vampire bite but through Angels. Angels ‘make’ a certain number of humans who petition to be a vampire a year. The main benefit of vampirism being the immortality, these vampires do not turn into ash in the sun and can have cool powers depending on who made them. So this is pretty cool right? The catch that being you serve the first 100 years under the angel who makes you as their servant to do as they wish. Elena is a vampire hunter who works for The Guild Hinters. She is given contracts to hunt vampires, not to kill them but capture them and return them to the Angels in charge. Why are vampire hunters needed? They are needed as some vampires feel one they have the immortality and perks who needs to stay in a contract for 100 years and decide to run away. I found this take on vampires very intriguing because it did not follow the norm of vampires. Elena is hunter born which means she hasn’t just trained to be a hunter, it is something she was born to do. She can scent vampires by their own unique scents, which is why she is such an amazing hunter. This is the reason Raphael contracts Elena to take a job on for him. She cannot refuse to do it as Raphael wants the best and who can say no to an Archangel.

At first I really did not think I would like Raphael, he wasn’t cruel in a sense but he was too hard and so I could not see myself warming up to him. What I discovered though was that I did not like Raphael because he was too hard but that was what I found interested about him too. I know it’s a contradiction that I did not understand either… I felt as the book progressed I could see him try and change and see just small subtle changes in him which made me like him.

The last couple of books I have read I noticed have a consistent theme in them. They all have an awesomely amazing heroine in who does not take a back seat and let the hero do the work, but actually works with him or can look after herself. There’s nothing wrong with heroines who need a hero to look after them, I still like to read books like that but I like that Elena is so strong and she stands up to Raphael as if she was a weaker heroine I do not think I would have enjoyed this book as much as I do. I agree with Raphael, Elena is a warrior! The other characters in this book are interesting too you will find yourself wanting to hear their story (Nalini Singh is doing books on Raphael’s seven) If I had to chose a favorite character other than Elena and Raphael it would be Illium, I think he is a sweet character and his wings sound too cool. I really really want to read his story!

The relationship between the two of them is interesting, I like the fact that it is not instant love between the two but it’s attraction which then has a chance to develop into more. The writing style of this book I thought was a tad different, I cannot explain what I mean but it just felt it was different. The story is still fast paced and interesting and you really want to start the book as soon as this one finishes because of the climax.

Read this book! Happy Reading!