Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night – Kresley Cole (Immortals After Dark Book 3)

I’ve read so many good reviews on this book but I did not like it that much at all. I do think to myself am I reading the same book as everyone else? I personally would not recommend this to someone else as it did not blow me away. It was an Ok read, I thought this the first time I read this but thought I’d give it another chance. Then again maybe I’m missing something and someone else who has read this can tell me what it is. I really wanted to enjoy this book because as I’ve mentioned before I love werewolves, this has a kick ass heroine in and it a romance, but it is just is not for me.

Warning this is an adult book, it contains mature content, recommended for 18+

Synopsis:

Her breathless kiss haunts him…

Bowen MacRieve of the Lykae clan was nearly destroyed when he lost the one woman meant for him. The ruthless warrior grew even colder, never taking another to his bed—until a smoldering encounter with his enemy, Mariketa the Awaited, reawakens his darkest desires. When sinister forces unite against her, the Highlander finds himself using all his strength and skill to keep her alive.

His slow, hot touch is irresistible…

Temporarily stripped of her powers, Mari is forced to take refuge with her sworn adversary. It’s rumored that no one can tempt Bowen’s hardened heart, but soon passion burns between them. Though a future together is impossible, she fears he has no intention of letting her go.

No deed is too wicked for her seduction…

If they defeat the evil that surrounds them, can Mari deny Bowen when he demands her body and soul—or will she risk everything for her fierce protector?

Ratings: 2.5 Stars

Ok so this book starts off with us seeing Bowen take place in the Hie, both he and Mariketa (along with 11 other people) are after the prize of a golden headdress. Bowen for some reason is attracted to Mariketa, which he does not understand as he is in the hie to get back his dead mate. Ofcourse with Bowen being a handsome lykae, Mariketa is attracted to him too and wants him to want to her as much as she wants him at that moment in time. As Lykae are always faithful and want no one other than their mate, Bowen thinks that Mariketa has put an enchantment and is using magic on him. So as we know from No Rest for the Wicked, he traps Mariketa and the 11 others in the cave with the incubus. Admittedly Bowen thinks that they can escape as Mariketa is suppose to be an all powerful witch and the others are immortal so I do not blame Bowen for that. Mariketa does manage to put the non healing spell on Bowen before he traps them though, so he cannot regenerate from his injuries. Once Bowen has been saved from the fire pit, he does go back to save Mariketa (to get the non healing enchantment removed). The book was face paced and there were no boring bits in it, I was just unable to get into it. The writing style was good as it has been in the previous books, even though we have so many different species they are explained well so at no point is the reader confused. My main issue with the book is the romance is due to the mating bond only. If you take away the mating bond and attraction there is not a relationship left. There were a couple of things Bowen did in here that really annoyed me, they being the thing with the birth control, the wrong name thing and what he believes about Mariah and Mariketa.

I was looking forward to Bowen story and I felt so bad for him in A Hunger Like No Other, in that book he gives Emma the advice to communicate with Lachlain and tell him what she feels, also I believe he also mentions to Lachlain that Emma is other and so he cannot treat her with the same rules and to accept her as she is. I do not think Bowen followed the same advise, I felt he tried to change Mariketa too much. Yes I know they get a HEA and he does reconsider his thinking about Witches and vows no that change her or force her to be someone else, but for me that was not enough.

The reason it was an ok read is that Mariketa is an awesome character, she is not the shrinking violet type. The story is good and does not drag in any places and we get little updates on how other characters are doing. Unfortunately even though Bowen was a werewolf that could not increase my love for this book.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

