Silent Revenge – Laura Landon

There is always a book that you read and think what is everyone going on about? Have I just read a completely different book? Silent Revenge is such a book for me, Goodreads gives this book a 3.74 and Amazon has many 4/5 star review of this book aswell. I don not understand how this is possible. Maybe it is my personal opinion but i was unable to get in to the book and at the end of it wished I hadn’t wasted my money. I do not like writing bad reviews, but I didn’t hate this book but I didn’t like it either. I was unconcerned either way.

Silent Revenge - Laura Landon, Kindle Paperwhite

Silent Revenge – Laura Landon, Kindle Paperwhite

Synopsis:

In just six days, Lady Jessica Stanton will turn twenty-five and inherit enough money to make her one of England’s wealthiest women. And when that happens, her stepbrother Colin will swoop in to take it all—along with her freedom. The only solution: find a husband strong enough to stand up to Colin. But even if she’s able to find someone able to protect her, what man will marry her once they discover her secret?

Not only is Simon Westland, Earl of Northcote, bankrupt, but the London gossip continues to speculate that he had a hand in the untimely death of his wastrel father. Now he is desperate to find a woman to keep him from losing everything. But what woman will want to marry a suspected murderer?

Thrown together by sheer necessity, Jessica and Simon agree that theirs will be a marriage of convenience. But no legal document can protect Jessica’s heart when she learns of Simon’s hidden motive for marrying her. For despite her best intentions, Jessica has fallen in love with her husband. And love is the last thing either of them wants—though it may be exactly what they both need.

Ratings: 2 Stars

The story starts off with Jessica attending a ball and sitting off to the side because she wants to blend in as a wallflower. She does not want to draw attention to herself and discourages any male interest. The only reason Jessica has decided to attend the ball was to see a dress designed by herself (This is kept a secret that only she, her friend and the madam who sells the designs knows) being worn to the ball. However before the Lady arrives the ball is all a flutter as Simon, the Earl of Northcote decided to attend the event. He dominates the room with his massive presence and gossip starts flying as he was accused of killing his own farther for money. Jessica takes notice of him as she is attracted to him. When Jessica is told by her solicitor that her evil step brother is not dead as previously assumed and her stepbrother will try to prove her insane to gain her inheritance she hatches the plan to marry someone who can stand up to him and protect her. She turns up at Simon’s house to offer him a marriage of convenience, while Simon is trying to get drunk at home to forget and make himself feel better. She propose this and he is really rude. I don’t have a problem is the main character is a jerk as long as he redeems himself. I mean I LOVED Sebastian from The Devil in Winter and Sandro from The Unwanted Wife. Simon was too cruel though and I do not feel his character made up for it by the end of the book.

“Damn you, woman. Stop your lies. I would rather watch every stone and timber of Ravenscroft fall down at my feet than marry you.”

I liked Jessica, it turns out she is deaf and has taught herself to lip read. I felt so sorry for her when she proposes marriage and Simon refuses her as he thinks she’s lying. She turns to her friends for help, she wants to leave the country to be safe. Simon turns up at her friend’s house (yes apparently they have mutual friends) and finds out she was telling the truth. He decides to marry her to get revenge from her stepbrother. He makes sure Jessica knows he only marrying her for money though. The lack of communication is what annoys he, he does not want to admit to her he married her for revenge, he too harsh with Jessica and they do not spend that much time together. I found it unbelievable that Jessica can read someone’s lips from a carriage aswell. I think there were too many issues in this book for me to enjoy it. By the end of it I was a bit meh, I did not care if they feel in love and stayed together or not. I really really wanted to like this story because it had so much promise. This book hasn’t put me off reading Laura Landon books as the writing was good, it was just the story was not for me.

If you have read this and think differently then leave a comment. Or if you do read it and do not agree with this review then also leave a comment.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

