Archer’s Voice – Mia Sheridan

I’m really into the contemporary romance stories at the moment, I do find that these books can be a bit hit and miss for me as my favourite genre is Historical Romance or Fantasy.  Archer’s Voice was a superb read, this book was just so heart-warming that I have no words to describe it. If you haven’t read this book then you haven’t lived. It is truly an amazing book. I would give it more than 5 stars if possible!

Warning this is a Adult fiction romance, it contains multiple descriptive sex scenes. This is a stand alone novel.

Archer’s Voice – Mia Sheridan

Synopsis:

When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.

Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.

Rating: 5 Stars 

Usually I start my review by giving a summary of the the start of  the book. This review will be different, the first thing I want to talk about is the writing. The writing of this book was so beautiful, it flowed well and I sucked in to this book right from the start.

“As I walked back through my own yard to get my purse out of the house, I spotted a lone dandelion full of fluff. I bent and plucked it out of the ground and held it up to my lips, closing my eyes and recalling Anne’s words. After a minute, I whispered, “Peace,” before I blew and watched the fluff float out of sight, hoping that somehow one of those seeds carrying my whisper would reach that something or someone who had the power to make wishes come true.”

There was no part of this book that I did not enjoy because it was well paced. No part of it was rushed or too slow. It also had an epilogue which most books don’t, this endeared the book to me more as I prefer books with them. I don’t like lose ends, and I want to know what happens a few years down the line.

Bree arrives at Pelion to get away from a tragedy that has befallen her, she just packed her bags and decided to drive 12 hours away from her home to get away and try and find peace. On her first day coming out of the grocery store she bumps into a Archer, Bree gets flustered and talks at him but he leaves without saying a word to her. Bree is intrigued by Archer so she starts asking around about him. She is told out the tragedy in his family in which his dad, mother and uncle all passed in and in which Archer was injured. She finds out is that Archer is overlooked by everyone, he’s isolated himself on his property and people believe he is deaf and has some mental issues. This breaks my heart that the people of Pelion care so little for him that no one realises that he’s actually mute. Bree ends up intruding on Archer’s property (as his property is on the way to the lake near her house) and she tried to befriend him by communicating with sign language. She discovers that Archer isn’t deaf but mute. This is where their friendship starts off from, I loved seeing the relationship develop between these two. It was so captivating, and you could feel the love developing.

Archer is amazing, seeing him grown and discover his own worth brought tears to me eyes. It was amazing to see Archer learning to trust Bree even though he had been through so much. Bree’s support of his process was a refreshing change, there’s not major misunderstanding between these characters. They actually communicate with each other.

The book is told from Bree’s POV with scenes from Archer’s POV from when he was younger. This I thought was very well done, the story did not feel clunky when the narration changed. It actually helped you to understand the story and Archer more. Archer is honestly perfect in my opinion, he is a lovely man, he says the sweetest things and I’m so glad Mia Sheridan created him and Bree.

“I want to be able to love you more than I fear losing you, and I don’t know how. Teach me, Bree. Please teach me. Don’t let me destroy this.”

“I didn’t know enough to dream you, Bree, but somehow you came true anyway. How did that happen?” He rubbed his nose along mine, pausing and then pulling back again. “Who read my mind and knew exactly what I wanted, even when I didn’t?”

Bree is a perfect heroine in this book, she is sweet, loving and she sees Archer for what he is inside. I wish more relationships in books were like this one. She encouraged Archer and supported him. I loved their scenes together.

“He… broke his lips from mine to look down questioningly into my face, to see if I was okay with what he was doing. His gentleness and his concern with what I desired made my heart squeeze tightly, and I smiled a small smile. “Yes,” I breathed out. “Yes.”

Read this book! It is not one to miss out on.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Archer’s Voice – Mia Sheridan

  1. Pingback: Bye bye 2014 and Hello 2015 | hyperaboutbooks

Leave a Reply

