Pushing the Limits – Katie McGarry (Pushing the Limits Book 1)

Pushing the Limits - Katie McGarry

Pushing the Limits – Katie McGarry

Synopsis:

So wrong for each other …and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.

But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

Rating: 5 Stars 

What can I say about this book, honest it has left me speechless and made me cry in places. I was so engrossed in this book that I resented having to put it down to eat or sleep. I finished it in under 24 hours and the only reason it took me that long is because I had to sleep and work the next day. It is the Young Adult Contemporary romance.

There’s not much I can add on the synopsis without spoiling story away. This is based on Echo who does not remember how she can by the scars on her arms, she knows it involved her mum and she is to blame but she does not remember details. Her parents, her stepmother and the school counsellor all know what happened but will tell Echo about it. Echo hides her scars under long sleeves and no one barring a couple of friends know why she hides her arms.

Echo’s dad just wants her to move on, be the best at everything and be ‘normal’. I’m not sure how I feel about Echo’s dad at first I thought I would out right hate him but I did feel sorry for him as the story progressed, however in the end he still was not a very likeable character for me.

This books start with Echo going to a school counsellor who has been appointed to try and help Echo work through her issues. My heart broke for Echo and from the first couple of pages I knew I was going enjoy this book. It was the sarcasm and wit of Echo, these two quote being the best examples:

“My father is a control freak, I hate my stepmother, my brother is dead and my mother has … well … issues. How do you think I’m doing?” That’s how I would have loved to respond to Mrs. Collins’s question, but my father placed too much importance on appearance for me to answer honestly. Instead, I blinked three times and said, “Fine.”

“Are you ready to take the ACT on Saturday?” my father asked. Did chickens enjoy being put on trucks labeled KFC? “Sure.”

Noah ‘the bad boy’  has to see the same school counsellor as he needs to be on his best behaviour because he wants custody of his younger brother. They are in a foster home separate from him a Noah punched his first foster father. Echo is told to help tutor Noah and between this they fall in love. Noah is so intense and sweet, he is a great character. I will admit I loved this line:

Her eyes met mine again. “So what does this mean for us?” I lowered my forehead to hers. “It means you’re mine.”

I mean who could say no to that? Noah seems to be quite mature in a way, he knows what he wants and he wants to take on responsibility for his brother. This was surprising but it made me like Noah better. I really enjoyed seeing the scenes with Noah and his younger brother. The emotions could actually be felt. Even though Echo has issues, she is a strong character who is funny. The relationship developed well, it was not rushed. It was such a sweet relationship, there is no making love scenes in this book. Both characters developed as the story went on, they worked through their issues and I felt proud of them at the end of the book. The writing of this book was brilliant.

Read this book, you will not regret it. It also helped that when I purchased this Ebook from Amazon it was just £0.20. Totally worth my money and because I love it so much I will probably buy it as a paperback.

Happy Reading!!

One thought on “Pushing the Limits – Katie McGarry (Pushing the Limits Book 1)

  1. Pingback: Bye bye 2014 and Hello 2015 | hyperaboutbooks

Leave a Reply

