Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I had a bit of a Rainbow Rowell week. Everyone on Instragram or Booktube goes on about them, so I thought time to give them a go before I come across any spoilers. Taking about spoilers while my review of fangirl is spoiler free, Landline’s review will not be.

If you have not read this book and do not want spoilers, please so not read this! Look away now!!!! You have been warned!

Lanline- Rainbow Rowel

Synopsis:

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

Ratings: 3

I connected with the characters in this book much quicker than Fangirl. As soon as I started this book I did not want to put it down. What can I say about Georgie? Georgie was nicer, I did think she was being a little bit selfish but how can you not be if your life’s dream is going to come true finally? She is well developed and you can see her change and trying to change herself as the story goes on.

Georgie is a TV writer and has been told her TV show will be picked up and produced if she and her co-partner Seth can come up with 4 episodes before 27th December. This is a goal Georgie and Seth have been working towards for the last 20 years. The problem is Georgie is suppose to go to Omaha with her husband and kids to see his mum and spend Christmas there. Georgie talks to Neal about this and as she needs to stay back he decides he’s going to go ahead and take the kids for Christmas at his mum’s. The odd thing is they talk about it in Chapter 1 but you get a feeling they are not talking about it and this is where the it starts to occur to Georgie that she has marriage problems. Once Neal has taken the kids to Omaha, Georgie’s family start to say he’s left her and her marriage has broken down. I really felt for Georgie, she wanted her own show but you could tell she did love Neal and the Girls. The storyline starts to go abit crazy when the Landline she calls Neal on is allowing her to talk to Neal in the past. It turns out that before Neal and Georgie married they broke up just before Christmas, but something made Neal change his mind and come propose marriage to her on Christmas. I thought this book was suppose to be about Georgie and Neal sorting out thier problems now, but they never actually talk about their problems. Sure Georgie comes to the realisation of where she’s going wrong or how they do not talk or how Neal compromised for her sake. I would have like more communication in the present between them two. Again finally at the end of the book when Georgie show’s up at Omaha for Christmas and Neal see’s her there’s no actual communication. Well they talk a bit but not enough for what I expect. Again my other issue with the book was the openness of the ending. I need resolution!! The openness was worse in this book compare to Fangirl, I had so many unanswered questions like what happened to Georgie’s TV show. Was it postponed? Did she move to whereever Neal wanted to live? What did Neal want? Did he get another job? Did they move? There were just so many. This is why my rating for this book is just 3 stars even though the book made me cry and I connected with the characters.

What can I say about Neal? He was not the perfect specimen, he short (well for a man), he was not thin and is socially awkward. I found this refreshing about the book, it’s a really nice change. It feels more life like when characters are not perfect. He was sweet in his own way and you could see he would do anything for Georgie. The romance in the flashbacks was sweet and Georgie and Neal made a cute couple in my mind. I do not know whether I would read this book again.

If anyone does pick this up and disagree or agree with my review do tell me, I like knowing what other people think about the same books! If you’re unsure of this book, why not give it a go?!

Happy Reading everyone!

Leave a Reply

