Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl - Rainbow Rowell

Synopsis:

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. 

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Rating: 4 Stars

I have heard so many good things about this book, so when it took me 5/6 chapters to get into it I thought I was the odd one out and that there was something wrong with me. At the start of the book I found it hard to relate to Cath. I do not know whether it was because she is suppose to be 18 years old and I’m 24 or I thought she was too antisocial. Then after 6 chapters or so it started to change, I found I started to care for Cath and wanted to know what happens to her. It dawned on me that Cath is just shy, no matter how popular she is with her fanfiction, she is socially awkward. This I could relate to.

This book is about Cath’s journey of surviving college. Cath’s world is basically Simon Snow and writing her fanfiction on him. She is dragged to college by her twin Wren who is the opposite to Cath. Wren likes to party and be social, while Cath just likes to write. I felt sorry for Cath when Wren would not hang out with her and made certain comments which hurt Cath. It was nice to see Cath grow as a character and find herself. The other characters in this book such as Reagan, Nick and Levi are well developed.

The romance in this book is very sweet. I really really liked Levi, he was so cute, It was nice for a change not to have storyline of the good girl falling for the hot bad boy. It was a refreshing read as Levi was not this hot, physically perfect guy (Well he is the perfect guy!). He had a receding hairline and is described in my opinion as gangly. I would like say I did want to hurt Levi on page 202 and shout Cath is just shy! (This part actually made me tear up) Rainbow did manage to turn it around so I no longer wanted to physically harm him but was rooting for him. My other main niggle with this book was the ending, I loved it do not get me wrong but I felt there were too much openness, I like more resolution. I love things like epilogues. Anyway so this was a good read, I would probably pick it up again.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

