Poison Study – Maria Snyder (Study book 1)

poison-study-young-adult-front-cover2

Synopsis:

Choose: A quick death…Or slow poison…

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear…

This is one of my re-reads as I personally love this book (and series), so I thought I would review it as I don’t see enough about it on Goodreads, YouTube or Instragram.

Poison Study is the first book in a trilogy based on Yelana. It is a fantasy book with elements of magic present in it. The novel follows Yelena who is due to be executed for admitting to the murder of the son of a high ranking general. She is given the choice to either hang or train to be the new food taster. Unsurprisingly she chose to become the new food taster (otherwise how would we have this wonderful novel?). Maria Snyder really draws you into the book by explaining in detail how Valek (The awesome sky master) trains Yelana to identify poisons. Maria also manages to explain Ixia, where the book is set without confusing the reading. I really like to the interactions not only between Valek and Yelena but with other secondary characters such as the commander or Ari and Janco. Ofcourse nothing can go smoothly for Yelena and nothing is as it seems. Once Yelena has become the food taster she faces other trials. There is romance in the book but it does not play a large role, I like how the slowly and sweetly the romance not only develops but also the way it is portrayed. Hats off to Maria Snyder.

I would caution that the book does just touch upon a sensitive matter. However it doesn’t go into much details about it. (Can’t say what, that will ruin the reading experience)

Happy reading! If anyone does read it please do remember to leave me a comment, I’d love to know what you think about it 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Poison Study – Maria Snyder (Study book 1)

  1. I’d just read this book recently and reviewed it on my own site. Glad to see someone else enjoyed it as much as I did! I couldn’t put it down – plowed through it in 3 days.

    Also, I’ve never seen that cover for Poison Study. It’s fantastic! It accurately hints at the danger she faces and features some of the items she covets during the story.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment and checking out my blog! I’ve read your review of this book (I follow your blog), I always love reading what others think. Have you read the next book in the series? 🙂

      I agree, I love these covers. I got the book a couple of years ago and lucky all the covers follow the same theme. I will admit I’m not a massive fan of the new covers.

      Like

  2. I haven’t read either Magic Study or Fire Study yet – but I want to! I’ve stopped myself from buying books at the moment because my birthday’s in a few weeks. So it might be a while before I get to them, but I’m looking forward to it. Did you know Maria is working on a new Study trilogy with Yelena and Valek? 😀

    While I’m thinking about it, A Bibliophile’s Reverie is going to feature an interview with Maria later this month. I’m not sure of the exact date… It’s going to be on a Wednesday, but I don’t think it’s this Wednesday. Here’s the link in case you’re interested: http://bibliophilesreverie.com/

    Like

    • Ooh the next two books are good aswell, they are enjoyable. I hope you get some good books for your birthday! I have heard about that and I’m very excited. Will love reading more about Valek! I have heard the new Study books are set after Maria’s Glass trilogy, so we have have to give that a read before reading her new books. Thank you for sharing the link, I am defiantly interested 😀

      Like

      • You’re welcome! And I forgot to say so earlier, but thank you for following my blog. 🙂 Feel free to comment on any of the reviews / article with your thoughts in the future.

        I read “Storm Glass” earlier this year, but didn’t like that story as much as “Poison Study.” Haven’t figured out if I want to continue with the Glass trilogy yet…

        I’ll try to remember to let you know which books I get for my birthday. 😉

        Like

      • That’s Ok :). It’s nice to read other people’s perspective on the same book. I defiantly will check out your blog and comment. I have heard the same about Storm Glass which is why I haven’t read it as yet. My friend who’s just read the Glass triligoy says that Yelena does make an appearance in them.

        I look forward to know what books you get. There are just so many good ones out there at the moment though! Are they’re any you really really want for your birthday?

        Like

      • Yes, Yelena does appear in Storm Glass, the first book in the Glass trilogy, though not till late in the story.

        Oooooooh… Magic Study, Veronica Roth’s Allegiant, Emily Croy Barker’s The Thinking Woman’s Guide To Magic… There are a few others, but they’re escaping me right now.

        Like

Leave a Reply

